Slikour onLife

Urban Culture and Music


Uganda's First Hip Hop Awards 2016

With hip hop growing exponentially in Uganda, the very first ever UG Hip Hop Awards will honour pioneers and upcomers in the genre on the 15th of December at the Golf Course Hotel.

The awards have 21 categories, which include Lifetime Achiever and Hustler of the Year. These two prestigious awards will not consider any entries from artists. The Lifetime Achiever Award, a panel of judges will award it to an artist who played a pivotal role in the contribution to Uganda's hip hop scene during their career. The Hustler of the Year Award will be given to an artist that received major endorsements or fruitful partnerships with other prolific brands through hip hop.

List of nominees for the first UG Hip Hop Awards:

Male Rapper of the Year
Pryce Teeba
Mun G

Song of the Year
Side Zeno – Pryce Teeba
Mutima – Keko Tyson
Kigozi – Navio
Malala – Victor Kamenyo
Tunyumize – Gravity

Collaboration of the Year
Empisa – Ruyonga ft. Nandujja and St. Nelly-sade
Batuwulira – Big Tril ft. Fille
Crazy – Mckenzie ft. Navio and Keko
Nsekula – Fefe Bussi ft. Sheebah
All Femcee Cypher – Fasie, Keko, Yallah, Sphynx, Twitch, Ninja C, Zion & Agee

Video of the Year
Gbesile – Navio ft. Burna Boy
Tsunami – Atlas Da African
Drink Party – Opu
Emergency – Nemesis
Dreams – Kracbone

Lyricist of the Year
Ebaluwa – St. Nelly-sade
First Family – The Smith
Misinde – Keko
Hip-Hop Kijjulo – Brooks After Mathematics
Kumbe Anjagala – Luganda XLz

Inspirational Song of the Year
Ekitakumenya – Ruyonga
Togwamu Ssubi – Benzeri
Hallelujah -1Der JR
Victory – Flex D’Paper
In Awe of You – Rugged Made

Rookie of the Year
Young Cardamom and HAB
Herninjaness Ninja c

Sweet 16
Calm before the Storm – Tucker HD
Redefinitions – Ruyonga
Kingin – Patrobas
Gritty Cypher 2 – Payne Keelah
Who Killed Hip-Hop – Enygma

Mixtape of the Year
Kambajulire – Pryce Teeba
Love from Venus – Keko
Keep the Fame – Sulfuric
Dorm Room Experience – High Society Music
The Enygma Machine – Enygma

Central artist of the Year
Fefe Bussi
Victor Kamenyo
St. Nelly-sade

Eastern artist of the Year
Byg Ben
Buka Chimey
Ram Kigozi

Northern artist of the Year
Mc Wang Jok
Toobi Smallz
Acholi Rapper Lobby
Lumix (R.I.P)

Western artist of the Year
Amaani Amanigger

Rap Fusion of the Year
Eh Mama – Mith ft. Maro
Ghost – Maurice ft. Ruyonga
Njogereza – Navio
Ndakwikundira – Mckenzie ft. Kahiri, The Mith, Ruyonga, and Lilian Mbabazi
Mutima – Keko Town

Media Personality of the Year
So Severe (Touch FM)
Mister Deejay (Radio City)
Byg Kahuna (Hot 100)
Segawa Salim (
Kyle (New Vision)

Deejay of the Year
Tha Dropout
DJ Twonjex
DJ Slugface
Deejay Crim
DJ Shiru

Producer of the Year
The Weezy (Batuwulira)
Samurae (Ndakwikundira)
Nase Avatar (No Apologies)
Lawraid Vibes (Stories of Elevation)
Baru (Side Zeno/Kambajulire)

Diaspora Act of the Year
Rashy K (Yenze)
Double S (Styles and Flows)
S.T.R.A.P. (Listen)
Kleo (Come too far)
Ston City (Afrikan Magic)

Female Artist of the Year
MC Yallah
The Sphynx
Lady Slyke